Nigel Carolan names Ireland U20 side to face Wales

Jack Kelly returns from injury to join Ciaran Frawley in a new centre partnership

BY Newstalk 13:54 Thursday 9 March 2017, 13:54 9 Mar 2017

Image: ©INPHO/Matteo Ciambelli

Ireland's U20 side continue their quest for a Grand Slam this weekend as they travel to Parc Eirias, Colwyn Bay and head coach Nigel Carolan has made a few adjustments to his side to face Wales.

Jordan Larmour will wear the number 15 jersey, switching from the wing where he has featured for Ireland's opening three games.

Tommy O'Brien moves from centre to the right wing and captain Calvin Nash will line out on the opposite flank.

Jack Kelly returns from injury to join Ciaran Frawley in midfield in a new centre partnership. Jonny Stewart partners number 10 Bill Johnston and will line out at scrum-half.

Tadgh McElroy lines out at hooker and is joined by props Joey Conway and Charlie Connolly in an unchanged front row.

Fineen Wycherley partners Oisin Dowling in the second-row. Gavin Coombes makes his first start in the back-row, alongside Paul Boyle and Number 8 Caelan Doris.

"The management team are very happy with how the side is progressing and developing so far in the Championship, but there is another big test ahead of us this Saturday in Colwyn Bay," Carolan said on Thursday afternoon.

"Wales have been going well in the competition, and despite a loss to England, they had a very big win against Scotland in the last round so they will be coming into this game full of confidence.

"We've had a good two week build-up to this game and had another good day with the senior side last week, so for us it's now about getting out there and putting in a performance."

Ireland U20 XV to face Wales U20 

15. Jordan Larmour (St. Mary's College / Leinster)
14. Tommy O'Brien (UCD RFC / Leinster)
13. Jack Kelly (Dublin University / Leinster)
12. Ciaran Frawley (UCD RFC / Leinster)
11. Calvin Nash (Young Munster / Munster) Captain
10. Bill Johnston (Garryowen / Munster)
9. Jonny Stewart (Queen's University / Ulster)
1. Joey Conway (UL Bohemians / Munster)
2. Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
3. Charlie Connolly (Dublin University / Leinster)
4. Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster / Munster)
5. Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
6. Gavin Coombes (Young Munster / Munster)
7. Paul Boyle (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary's College / Leinster)


16. Ronan Kelleher (UCD / Leinster)
17. Greg McGrath (Lansdowne / Leinster)
18. Matthew Burke (Corinthians / Connacht)
19. Jack Regan (UCD RFC / Leinster)
20. Marcus Rea (Queen's University / Ulster)
21. Jack Stafford (Shannon / Munster)
22. Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon RFC / Munster)
23. Colm Hogan (Dublin University / Munster)

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week