Africa to receive nine automatic places for 2026 World Cup

The increased allocations for each football confederation were ratified by the FIFA Council on Tuesday

World Cup Trophy

Image: Mike Egerton/PA Wire/PA Images

Africa will receive nine automatic places when the World Cup expands to 48 teams in 2026.

The move, ratified by the FIFA Council on Tuesday in Bahrain, increases the continent's current qualifications places from five.

On top of this, a 10th African country will take part in a six-nation play-off tournament to decide the two final qualifiers. 

This constitutes the largest increase in nation qualifications from a single football federation for the expanded format.

Earlier this year, FIFA voted to expand the World Cup from 32 teams competing to 48. This will mean a total of 16 teams from Europe will qualify.

The allocation is as follows:

  • AFC (Asia): 8.5 slots
  • CAF (Afirca): 9.5 slots
  • CONCACAF (North and Central America): 6.5 slots
  • CONMEBOL (South America): 6.5 slots
  • OFC (Oceania): 1.5 slot
  • UEFA (Europe): 16 slots

Confederations featuring a '.5' slot will take part in the six-nation play-off tournament for the two additional places.