Aidan O'Shea missing for Mayo's Connacht Championship quarter-final

All-Ireland U21 winner Fergal Boland will make his senior championship debut for Mayo this weekend

BY Cian Roche 14:30 Thursday 18 May 2017, 14:30 18 May 2017

Image: ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson

All-Ireland U21 winner Fergal Boland will make his senior championship debut for Mayo this weekend when Stephen Rochford's side take on Sligo at Elvery's MacHale Park.

The 20-year-old featured for last year's All-Ireland finalists during the league in February and March, and has now been handed his senior championship debut in their Connacht Championship quarter-final clash.

In total there are five changes to the team which started the 2016 All Ireland final replay defeat to Dublin.

David Clarke replaces Robbie Hennelly in goal, while fit-again Ger Cafferkey returns at full-back for Rochford's side.

Chris Barrett comes in for the injured Brendan Harrison, while debutant Boland and Conor O'Shea come in for Aidan O'Shea and Jason Doherty.

Mayo last won the Connacht title in 2015. Last year, Mayo ultimately benefitted from a run in the qualifiers, but were dumped out in the semi-final of the Connacht Championship after defeat to Galway.

The Tribesmen went on to beat Roscommon in the final after a replay.

Fergal Boland in action against Dublin at Croke Park in March. Image: ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Meanwhile, Sligo have named an unchanged XV and stick to the side that beat New York in the opening round of the Connacht Championship.

Mayo XV to face Sligo

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Chris Barrett (Belmulet) 

3. Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)

4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)

6. Lee Keegan (Westport)

7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)

9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)

10. Fergal Boland (Ballyhaunis)

11. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)

12. Conor O'Shea (Breaffy)

13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)

14. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain)

15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)

Sligo XV to face Mayo

1. Aidan Devaney (Calry/St.Joseph's)

2. Ross Donavan (Eastern Harps)

3. Charlie Harrison (St.John's)

4. Eoin McHugh (St.Molaise Gaels)

5. Keelan Cawley (Coolera Standhill)

6. Brendan Egan (St.Vincent's)

7. John Kelly (Tourlestrane)

8. Paddy O'Connor (St.Farnan's)

9. Adrian McIntyre (Tourlestrane)

10. Neil Ewing (Drumcliffe Rosses Point)

11. Mark Breheny (St.Mary's)

12 Kyle Cawley (St.Mary's)

13. Stephen Coen (St.Mary's)

14 . Pat Hughes (Geevagh)

15 Adrian Marren (Curry)

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week