All-Stars: Dublin earn six while Mayo's David Clarke makes the cut

The All-Stars were revealed on Thursday morning

BY Cian Roche 07:30 Thursday 3 November 2016, 7:30 3 Nov 2016

Image: ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne 

All-Ireland champions Dublin have six representatives in this year's All-Star selections, with Dean Rock, Diarmuid Connolly and Jonny Cooper all making the cut.

Dublin needed two attempts to vanquish Mayo in this year's competition, but feature two defenders in Cooper and Philly McMahon, one midfielder in Brian Fenton and three forwards in Ciaran Kilkenny, Connolly and Rock.

Mayo, meanwhile, boast four players in the All-Star XV. David Clarke, despite being dropped for the All-Ireland final replay is included, as are Lee Keegan who was black carded in the replay and defender Colm Boyle.

Brendan Harrison completes Mayo's tally, meaning four of the back seven come from Stephen Rochford's side. 

Tyrone have two representatives on the team in midfielder Mattie Donnelly and forward Peter Harte. Donegal, Tipperary and Kerry all include one player in the team.

Defender Ryan McHugh makes it from Rory Gallagher's side, while in the forwards Tipperary's Michael Quinlivan and Kerry's Paul Geaney complete the line-up.

2016 All-Star Team


1 David Clarke (Mayo)


2 Brendan Harrison (Mayo)

3 Jonny Cooper (Dublin)

4 Philly McMahon (Dublin)

5 Lee Keegan (Mayo)

6 Colm Boyle (Mayo)

7 Ryan McHugh (Donegal)


8 Brian Fenton (Dublin)

9 Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)


10 Peter Harte (Tyrone)

11 Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

12 Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)

13 Dean Rock (Dublin)

14 Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)

15 Paul Geaney (Kerry)

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week