Best, McGrath, Stander and Henshaw nominated for IRUPA Player of the Year award

Each province is represented in today's nominations

BY Newstalk 14:07 Thursday 21 April 2016, 14:07 21 Apr 2016

Image: ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

CJ Stander, Rory Best, Robbie Henshaw and Jack McGrat have all been nominted for this year's IRUPA Player of the Year award.

For the first time ever the four shortlisted nominees of the main award consist of one from each Irish province. 

The award will be given based on votes from fellow players and presented at the Zurich Irish Rugby Players' Awards, taking place on May 4 in Dublin.

Players will select the player "based on consistent form across the Guinness Pro 12, European Champions Cup, European Challenge Cup, Rugby World Cup and the RBS 6 Nations."

CJ Stander made his debut for Ireladn during this year's Six Nations campaign. Image: ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Garry Ringrose, Josh Van Der Flier and Stuart McCloskey are the trio who compete for the The Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year - an award which Henshaw has won for the last three years.

Sene Naoupu, Paula Fitzpatrick and Ciara Griffin are the finalists in the Women’s XVs Player of the Year category.

Amee Leigh Murphy Crowe, Ashleigh Baxter and Audrey Flynn are all nominated for Women’s 7s Player of the Year.


Ched Evans wins rape conviction appeal

09:50 Thursday 21 April 2016 0 Minute Read

The UFC announces details of first New York city event

11:08 Friday 15 April 2016 0 Minute Read

Jack Wilshere returns to action in hope of securing Euro 2016 spot

10:50 Saturday 9 April 2016 0 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week