CJ Stander awarded IRUPA Player of the Year to mark stellar season

He was one of a host of award winners at tonight's ceremony

stander, ireland, munster, irfu, rugby, white, ah you, payne, strauss, diack

Munster's CJ Stander. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Ireland international CJ Stander has been voted Zurich IRUPA Player of the Year by his peers.

The South Africa-born Munster back row was rewarded for a fine season, particularly for his adopted country in his debut Six Nations campaign.

"I’m delighted to win this award. Receiving recognition from my fellow peers is the ultimate accolade. I will remember this season fondly, from winning my first cap, to scoring my first international try and ultimately winning this award," said Stander.

He also won the fans award, taking home The Irish Times Supporters’ Player of the Year 2016.

Leinster's Josh Van der Flier, who also made his Ireland bow during this year's Six Nations, was named the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year.

And Sene Naoupu was voted Women's Player of the Year.

Munster and Ireland Ronan O’Gara was inducted into the BNY Mellon IRUPA Hall of Fame, while the Zurich Contribution to Irish Society was presented to former Leinster player, musician Niall Breslin, in recognition of the massive impact he has made in raising awareness of mental health.