Carbery, Ringrose and Holland included in Ireland squad for New Zealand test

A 34-person travelling party will head to Chicago

BY Raf Diallo 17:09 Wednesday 26 October 2016, 17:09 26 Oct 2016

Leinster's Joey Carbery runs in his and Leinster's second try ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has revealed his 34-man squad for the upcoming test against New Zealand in Chicago.

The fixture against the All-Blacks takes place at Soldier's Field on November 5th with Ireland seeking a first ever victory against the three-time reigning World Cup winners.

Among the uncapped players included are Leinster's Joey Carbery, Garry Ringrose, James Tracy and Luke McGrath,  as well as Munster's Billy Holland and John Ryan.

The biggest surprise is the absence of veteran Leinster prop Mike Ross from the touring squad.

The 36-year-old has been virtually ever-present for Ireland during Schmidt's time in charge.

There is also no place for Tiernan O'Halloran or Stuart Olding who are both working their way back from injuries while Craig Gilroy appears to have been preferred to his Ulster team-mate Tommy Bowe.

"Selections were difficult as always; trying to balance form, fitness, experience, combinations plus assess those players returning from injury or those carrying minor knocks or strains," said Schmidt.

"With more than half the squad likely to be involved in Pro12 action this weekend, plus the need to factor in the travel and fatigue from the Chicago fixture, there are also a number of players on standby who are likely to be involved during the first two weeks of the Guinness Series."

The squad will gather in Carton House on Sunday, October 30th, following the Guinness Pro12 fixtures between Ulster and Munster and Leinster and Connacht and will then depart Dublin for Chicago on Monday 31st.

Ireland Squad for New Zealand (Chicago)

Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) captain

Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster)*

Sean Cronin (St Marys/Leinster)

Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

Tadgh Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)

Craig Gilroy (Ulster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) vice captain

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Robbie Henshaw (Leinster)

Billy Holland (Cork Constitution/Munster)*

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

Kieran Marmion (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Luke Marshall (Ulster)

Jack McGrath (St Marys/Leinster)

Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)*

Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster)

Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Jared Payne (Ulster)

Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)*

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster)*

Jonathan Sexton (St Marys/Leinster)

CJ Stander (Munster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)*

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

*Denotes uncapped player

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week