Changes for Cork hurlers and footballers as both sides look to continue in the qualifiers

The footballers have named four changes and the hurlers have named two

BY Robbie Dunne 10:40 Saturday 9 July 2016, 10:40 9 Jul 2016

Cork GAA is in a difficult place at present but a win for the hurlers over Dublin last weekend will give them some all-important momentum heading into their clash with Wexford at Semple Stadium at 5pm.

Captain Stephen McDonnell and Conor O'Sullivan have been named as the left and right corner backs respectively for the clash. 

McDonnell has recovered from a broken elbow that he sustained in a challenge match with Clare earlier in the year with Killian Burke missing out having been taken off late in the side's victory over Dublin with an apparent knock.

Cormac Murphy was replaced at half-time in the Dublin game and O'Sullivan will take his place in the starting 15. 

Wexford named their team, which is the same as the one that beat Offaly last weekend in a convincing fashion.

Cork's starting 15: 

Anthony Nash (Kanturk), Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers – captain), Damien Cahalane (St Finbarrs), Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields), Mark Ellis (Millstreet), Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), Aidan Walsh (Kanturk), Bill Cooper (Youghal), William Egan (Kilbrin), Luke O’Farrell (Midleton), John Cronin (Lisgoold), Conor Lehane (Midleton), Alan Cadogan (Douglas), Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s), Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Meanwhile, the Cork footballers have been forced into four changes after their shock defeat at the hands of Tipperary in the semi-final of the Munster Championship.

The most notable inclusion is that of Alan O'Connor, who has been injured since Cork's humbling defeat to Kildare in last year's qualifiers.

Noel Galvin, Peter Kelleher and Luke Connolly also come into the team with Brian Hurley missing out through a serious hamstring tear, with Sean Kiely, John O’Rourke and Conor Dorman the other three to lose out in the all-or-nothing clash.

Ryan Price (O’Donovan Rossa), Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh),Eoin Cadogan (Douglas), Noel Galvin (Ballincollig), Tomas Clancy (Fermoy), James Loughrey (Mallow), Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh), Alan O’Connor (St Colum’s), Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s), Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), Mark Collins (Castlehaven), Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh), Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough), Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael), Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)


Toronto FC sign young fan with heart condition to a one-day contract

21:09 Friday 1 July 2016 0 Minute Read

"I think he's got a great chance of making the starting 11": Roy Keane clearly impressed with Shane Duffy's form

14:23 Saturday 11 June 2016 0 Minute Read

Lawyers say FIFA officials awarded themselves in excess of €70 million

16:40 Friday 3 June 2016 0 Minute Read

Watford name Walter Mazzarri as their new manager

13:05 Saturday 21 May 2016 0 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week