Charles Piutau named Players' Player of the Year at PRO12 awards

Rassie Erasmus named coach of the season

BY Simon Maguire 20:59 Sunday 7 May 2017, 20:59 7 May 2017

Guinness Players' Player of the Season – Charles Piutau (Ulster Rugby). Image: ©INPHO/James Crombie

Ulster's Charles Piutau has been named as the Guinness PRO12 Players' Player of the Year at an awad ceremony in Dublin. 

Leinster's Joey Carbery was named Young Player of the Season while Ospreys' Sam Davies picked up the Golden Boot after an 88% success rate from the tee. 

Young Player of the Season Joey Carbery. Image: ©INPHO/James Crombie

Munster were the big winners on the night with six players named on the Dream Team selection. 

Connacht received the Specsavers Fair Play Award which was accepted by captain John Muldoon and the province will receive £10,000 to put towards their youth development programme.

Nigel Owens recived a special award in recognition of his contribution to the league which saw him take charge of 150th league match in April.

The Guinness PRO 12 Dream Team is: 

15 Tiernan O'Halloran (Connacht Rugby)
14 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)
13 Jaco Taute (Munster Rugby)
12 Rory Scannell (Munster Rugby)
11 Charles Piutau (Ulster Rugby)
10 Tyler Bleyendaal (Munster Rugby)
9 Ruan Pienaar (Ulster Rugby)
8 Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby)
7 James Davies (Scarlets)
6 Dan Leavy (Leinster Rugby)
5 Billy Holland (Munster Rugby)
4 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby)
3 John Ryan (Munster Rugby)
2 Ken Owens, Captain (Scarlets)
1 Dave Kilcoyne (Munster Rugby)


Roma legend Totti to retire at end of season

14:04 Wednesday 3 May 2017 2 Minute Read

Michael Ryan bemoans Westmeath's performance and "crazy" sending off

12:54 Monday 1 May 2017 2 Minute Read

Saturday Night Takeaway: Sunderland relegated from the Premier League

21:28 Saturday 29 April 2017 2 Minute Read

GALLERY: Celtic blitz Rangers in Old Firm derby

14:46 Saturday 29 April 2017 2 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week