Chelsea and Tottenham dominate the PFA Team of the Year

The Premier League top-two provided eight players

Chelsea and Tottenham dominate the PFA Team of the Year

N'Golo Kante and Dele Alli were both named in the team. Picture by: Adam Davy/PA Wire/PA Images

Premier League leaders Chelsea and second-placed Tottenham Hotspur have provided eight players in the PFA Team of the Season.

Both London teams are on course to battle over the final weeks of the season for the Premier League title, and they have been rewarded with a strong representation in the end of season awards. Manchester United, Liverpool and Everton provide one player each to complete the team.

David de Gea has been rewarded for an excellent season at Old Trafford with a spot in goals. It is the fourth season in a row he has won the award.

The back four is split in half between Chelsea and Tottenham. The Spurs duo of Kyle Walker and Danny Rose are on the flanks, with Chelsea's Gary Cahill and David Luiz manning the centre of defence.

In midfield, former PFA Player of the Year Eden Hazard is on the wing with Liverpool's Sadio Mane. Dele Alli and N'Golo Kante earn spots in the centre of the pitch.

The Premier League's top two goalscorers lead the attack, in the form of Everton's Romelu Lukaku and Spurs' Harry Kane.

Earlier this month, the PFA Player of the Year nominees were announced, with Hazard, Kane, Kante and Lukaku, being joined by Alexis Sanchez and Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

It is the first time that Arsenal have have no representatives in the team since 2014, while Manchester City miss out on any inclusions for the second season in a row. 

The PFA Teams of the Year were also announced for each division in the Football League. Portsmouth defender Enda Stevens and Plymouth midfielder Graham Carey are the only Irish players to receive an award.

The duo were named at left-back and left-midfield respectively in the League 2 Team of the Year, as their teams earned promotion to League 1.