Chelsea duo among front-runners for PFA Player of the Year award

N'Golo Kante and Eden Hazard are favourites to lift the trophy

BY Cian Roche 09:50 Thursday 13 April 2017, 9:50 13 Apr 2017

Image: John Walton/PA Wire/PA Images

Chelsea pair N'Golo Kante and Eden Hazard are among the nominees for the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award.

Hazard lifted the trophy as recently as 2015 when he helped guide Chelsea to Premier League success under Jose Mourinho.

Kante, meanwhile, was nominated for the award last year but was beaten by teammate Riyad Mahrez during Leicester City's successful tilt at the title.

Tottenham's England striker Harry Kane is also on the shortlist for the second year running.

He's joined by Manchester United's Zlatan Ibrahimovic who has earned a nomination during his first season in the Champions League.

Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez and Everton striker Romelu Lukaku are also nominated.

Lukaku currently leads the race for the Golden Boot with 23 goals. Kane and Sanchez have hit 19 and 18 goals respectively, while 35-year-old Ibrahimovic is one goal further back on 17.

Kane and Lukaku are also up for the Young Player prize - with Spurs' Dele Alli another of those in the running. Sunderland goalkeeper Jordan Pickford is also in the running after a wonderful season between the sticks for David Moyes' side.

The women's nominations are dominated by Manchester City, who have Lucy Bronze, Jane Ross and Jill Scott on the best player list.

City take half the Young Player nominees too with Nikita Parris, Georgia Stanway and Keira Walsh.

"The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar," PFA Chief Executive, Gordon Taylor OBE said in a statement.

"For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished."

Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year 2017

  • Eden Hazard - Chelsea
  • Zlatan Ibrahimović - Manchester United
  • Harry Kane - Tottenham Hotspur
  • N'Golo Kanté - Chelsea
  • Romelu Lukaku - Everton
  • Alexis Sánchez - Arsenal

Chelsea's Eden Hazard with the PFA's Men's Player of the Year award in 2015. Image: Barrington Coombs/EMPICS Sport

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week