Connacht dominate Pro12 end of year awards

Pat Lam, Bundee Aki and John Muldoon all picked up individual gongs

Connacht dominate Pro12 end of year awards

Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Connacht coach Pat Lam has been awarded the Coach of the Year accolade at tonight's Guinness Pro12 awards.

The New Zealander has overseen the Westerners remarkable season, as Connacht sit second in the table and awaiting a home semi-final with last year's champions Glasgow Warriors.

Lam's side have won a record 15 games this season for the province while they also made it to a European quarter-final, losing out to Grenoble in the Challenge Cup. 

Centre Bundee Aki picked up the Player's Player of the Year award as well, capping what has been an excellent season for the former Waikato Chiefs man. 

The awards didn't stop there for Connacht, as John Muldoon picked up the Chairman's Award while the Galwaymen dominated the team of the year with seven players.

Ulster also received the Fair Play award for their on field discipline, while Tommy Seymour scored Try of the Year for his wonderful finish against the northern province. 

Players’ Player of the Season: Bundee Aki (Connacht)

Young Player of the Season: Sam Davies (Ospreys)

Coach of the Season: Pat Lam (Connacht)

Golden Boot: Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues)

Try of the Season: Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)

Fair Play Award: Ulster

Chairman’s Award: John Muldoon (Connacht)

Dream Team: Isa Nacewa (Leinster, captain); Matt Healy (Connacht), Bundee Aki (Connacht), Ben Te’o (Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster); Sam Davies (Ospreys), Kieran Marmion (Connacht); Denis Buckley (Connacht), Tom McCartney (Connacht), Finlay Bealham (Connacht); Leone Nakarawa (Glasgow Warriors), Ultan Dillane (Connacht); CJ Stander (Munster), Josh van der Flier (Leinster), Cornell du Preez (Edinburgh).