Conor Murray named the Player's Player of the Year

It's the first time Murray has won the award

BY Daniel Kelly 07:41 Thursday 11 May 2017, 7:41 11 May 2017

Conor Murray Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

Munster scrum-half Conor Murray has capped an excellent season by being named the Players’ Player of the Year.

The 28-year-old Limerick native is the third Munster player in a row to win the award. CJ Stander was 2016's winner, with Paul O'Connell winning in 2015.

Murray defeated Stander and the Leinster duo of Rob Henshaw and Tadhg Furlong to the award.

Leinster's Garry Ringrose was named the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year. He defeated his provincial teammate Joey Carbery and Munster's Darren Sweetnam to the award.

Ireland's historic win over New Zealand in Chicago was also honoured on Wednesday night. Rob Henshaw's late score was named the Try of the Year, while the win itself was named as the Moment of the Year.

Tadhg Furlong's season for Leinster and Ireland was also rewarded by being named the Supporter's Player of the Year. The prop defeated seven other players from all four provinces to the award.

Ireland prop Lindsay Peat was named the Women's Player of the Year, while Amee-Leigh Murphy was named the Women's Sevens Player of the Year.


Jurgen Klopp writes tribute message to Seamus Coleman

12:52 Saturday 1 April 2017 1 Minute Read

Marc Ó Sé on Colm Cooper: He's the greatest I've played with

11:08 Tuesday 4 April 2017 2 Minute Read

As it happened: Guinness PRO12 Championship

21:30 Saturday 8 April 2017 0 Minute Read

Half Marathon organisers apologise as course is revealed to be too short

15:05 Friday 31 March 2017 1 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week