Cuala win their first Leinster Hurling Championship

The Dublin champions defeated Kilkenny's O'Loughlin Gaels

Cuala win their first Leinster Hurling Championship

Cuala's Darragh O'Connell and Paddy Deegan of O'Loughlin Gaels Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

South-Dublin side Cuala, have won the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship for the first time in their history.

The team went one better than last year, when they defeated Kilkenny's O'Loughlin Gaels on Sunday afternoon by nine points in Portlaoise. The 3-19 to 2-16 win ensures Mattie Kenny's team face Derry's Slaughtneil in the All-Ireland semi-finals.

David Treacy (0-11) and Con O’Callaghan (1-4) starred for Cuala, as the Kilkenny side struggled to cope with the Dublin champion's attack.

Colm Cronin found the back of the net inside the opening five minutes, and it was a lead, the back-to-back Dublin champions refused to surrender.

Despite the heavy defeat, O'Loughlin Gaels' full-forward Mark Bergin kept the team in touch. He scored 0-10, with eight of those coming from frees.

The win for Cuala ends a barren run for the Dublin champions in the Leinster Championship. The Crumlin side of 1980 were the last team to win the title.