Denis Connerton makes one adjustment to Longford team ahead of their meeting with Cork

The midlanders executed a huge scalp against Monaghan in the previous round

BY Sinéad Farrell 07:11 Friday 15 July 2016, 7:11 15 Jul 2016

Longford have made one change in personnel in advance of their home championship qualifier against Cork this weekend.

Denis Connerton's side are highly regarded as the qualifier kings, and they go into this tie on the back of a much deserved win against Monaghan in Clones last weekend.

This Cork assignment however, could prove more difficult following the announcement that Aidan Walsh and Alan Cadogan have both returned to the rebel panel following the elimination of the Cork senior hurlers.

But Pearse Park is not an easy venue for visiting teams to come away with a victory, which Derry (2012) and Mayo (2010) learned to their cost in previous campaigns.

For the Cork meeting this weekend, Barry O'Farrell has been drafted in to replace Paul McGee in the half-forward line.

Cork will name their side for the game tonight for what will be the first ever senior football championship tie between the counties.

Throw-in at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park is 3pm.


1. Paddy Collum (Fr. Manning Gaels)

2. Cian Farrelly (Emmet Óg)
3. Barry Gilleran (Longford Slashers)
4. Dermot Brady (Longford Slashers)

5. Donal McElligott (St. Columbas)
6. Michael Quinn (capt) (Emmet Óg)
7. Diarmuid Masterson (Dromard)

8. Michael Brady (Longford Slashers)
9. Darren Gallagher (St. Mary’s)

10. Barry O’Farrell (Carrickedmond)
11. James McGivney (St. Columbas)
12. Barry McKeon (Colmcille)

13. Robbie Smyth (Abbeylara)
14. Brian Kavanagh (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Liam Connerton (Rathcline)

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week