Denis Shapovalov "blacked out" after hitting referee

The Canadian was disqualified in the Davis Cup match against Great Britain

BY Daniel Kelly 08:15 Wednesday 8 February 2017, 8:15 8 Feb 2017

Picture by Tim Ireland AP/Press Association Images

Canada's Denis Shapovalov will be remembered for a long time, for accidentally hitting an umpire in the Davis Cup First Round match against Great Britain.

The 17-year-old was disqualified for hitting a ball of umpire Arnaud Gabas in the deciding rubber of the tie with Great Britain. Kyle Edmund was leading two sets to love when the incident happened.

"I know how dangerous it can be to fire a ball," he told the BBC on Tuesday. "My first concern was that the referee was ok."

"I turned over and saw the official bending down, holding his eye. So from that moment on I was in complete shock and regret right away."

"I kind of blacked out for the next 10 minutes maybe. I remember going to the bench, asking if the ref's ok."

Shapovalov was fined $7,000 for the incident, but was relieved the damage done to Gabas was not worse. 

"I'm very lucky he is OK. If things had gone worse I don't think I would have been able to forgive myself and I don't think I would be able to move past it.

Great Britain will now play France in the quarter-finals.


Claudio Ranieri takes dreaded vote of confidence in his stride

19:11 Tuesday 7 February 2017 1 Minute Read

Claudio Ranieri gets the dreaded 'vote of confidence'

13:41 Tuesday 7 February 2017 2 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week