Dillane and Henshaw stay with Ireland squad as Connacht name their 23 to face Edinburgh

Nathan White returns to the team and starts in the front-row

BY Newstalk 12:37 Thursday 3 March 2016, 12:37 3 Mar 2016

Ireland's Ultan Dillane and Robbie Henshaw Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

The Connacht team to face Edinburgh at Murrayfield on Friday night features four changes from the starting team that was named for the last round against Ospreys.

Ireland international Nathan White, who played in all three 6 Nations game last month, has been released to play in the Pro12 clash. The tighthead prop joins Denis Buckley and Tom McCartney in the front row.

The return of Quinn Roux provides a timely boost as the lock is named to play his first game of 2016, having recovered from the ankle injury sustained in early December. John Muldoon, who missed his only Pro12 game of the season last weekend, has returned to captain the side wearing the Number 8 shirt.

Scrum-half Kieran Marmion is named to start in a backline that also sees the reintroduction of Danie Poolman to the right wing. 

Commenting on the team announcement and the upcoming game, head coach Pat Lam said:

"It's good to have some of our international boys back again this week, including Whitey (Nathan White) who has performed really well for Ireland. That extra experience will be important against a side like Edinburgh who we've always had close encounters with."

"There is consistency in the way Edinburgh play - they are very physical, very direct, and they are a settled team with a lot of experienced players. Murrayfield is always tough but they've really made it into a fortress now having only lost there once this season."

Connacht team to face Edinburgh:

(15-9): Tiernan O'Halloran, Danie Poolman, Bundee Aki, Craig Ronaldson, Matt Healy, AJ MacGinty, Kieran Marmion.

(1-8): Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Nathan White, Quinn Roux, Aly Muldowney, Sean O'Brien, Jake Heenan, John Muldoon (capt).

Replacements (16-23): Dave Heffernan, Finlay Bealham, Rodney Ah You, Danny Qualter, Eoin McKeon, Caolin Blade, Peter Robb, Fionn Carr.

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week