Dublin and Mayo dominate the GAA/GPA All-Star Nominations

The All-Ireland finalists make up just under half of the total nominations

BY Daniel Kelly 07:25 Thursday 6 October 2016, 7:25 6 Oct 2016

Dublin's Cian O'Sullivan and Cillian O'Connor of Mayo have both been nominated. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Dublin and Mayo have both had 11 players nominated for the GAA/GPA Football All-Stars.

The two teams have also accounted for the Player of the Year nominees, with Dublin's Brian Fenton and Ciaran Kilkenny being joined by Mayo's Lee Keegan on the list.

Tipperary's run to the All-Ireland semi-finals sees the team have two nominees for the Young Player of the Year. Josh Keane and Jimmy Feehan will battle Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor for the award.

Despite Dublin and Mayo's domination of the nominations, six other counties have players represented. Ulster champions Tyrone have six nominees, Tipperary have five Kerry and Galway have four players shortlisted.

Three Donegal players have been given the nod, while Gary Brennan is the first Clare player to earn a Football All-Stars nomination since 1997.

The 2016 GAA/GPA Opel Football All-Star Nominees

Goalkeepers: Evan Comerford (Tipperary), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), David Clarke (Mayo).

Defenders: Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Brendan Harrison (Mayo), Keith Higgins (Mayo), Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin), Lee Keegan (Mayo), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Philly McMahon (Dublin), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Cathal McCarron (Tyrone), John Small (Dublin), Patrick Durcan (Mayo), Shane Enright (Kerry), Declan Kyne (Galway), James McCarthy (Dublin), Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo), Paddy McGrath (Donegal), Robbie Kiely (Tipperary), Killian Young (Kerry).

Midfielders: Brian Fenton (Dublin), Peter Acheson (Tipperary), Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone), Gary Brennan (Clare), Paul Conroy (Galway), Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone).

Forwards: Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Dean Rock (Dublin), Kevin McManamon (Dublin), Paul Geaney (Kerry), Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary), Andy Moran (Mayo), Conor Sweeney (Tipperary), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Paul Murphy (Kerry), Cillian O’Connor (Mayo),  Damien Comer (Galway), Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo), Peter Harte (Tyrone), Danny Cummins (Galway), Patrick McBrearty (Donegal), Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone), Niall Sludden (Tyrone).

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week