Dundalk and Shamrock Rovers to face off on the opening weekend of the 2017 season

The fixtures for both the Premier and First Divisions have been announced

Dundalk and Shamrock Rovers to face off on the opening weekend of the 2017 season

Ronan Finn (left) playing for Dundalk against Shamrock Rovers last season, will be on the opposite side on the opening night. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Three-time defending Premier Division champions Dundalk will welcome Shamrock Rovers to Oriel Park on the opening night of the 2017 season.

The game, taking place on February 24th, will have added significance due to the re-signing of Ronan Finn by the Dublin club. Finn had spent the last two seasons in Dundalk with Stephen Kenny's side.

FAI Cup winners Cork City travel to Ballybofey to play Finn Harps on the opening weekend, while last season's third placed Derry City are away to Bohemians in Dalymount Park.

Galway United play newly-promoted Drogheda United and St. Patrick's Athletic welcome Bray Wanderers to Richmond Park on the opening night of the season.

First Division champions Limerick host Sligo Rovers on the following evening in Market's Field, in the only game taking place on the Saturday night.

The following weekend sees Buncanna's Maginn Park host its first Premier Division game. Derry City are using the ground as The Brandywell is redeveloped. Kenny Shiels' side play Limerick on Sunday, March 5th.

In the First Division, the opening night (February 24th) sees a south-Dublin derby between Cabinteely and UCD. Longford Town, who finished bottom of the Premier Division last year travel to Tolka Park to play Shelbourne, while Athlone Town host Waterford.

The opening weekend of the first Division concludes with clash of Cobh Ramblers and Wexford Youths.

As the fixtures were announced, the FAI confirmed that the 2018 season will consist of two ten-team divisions. The 2017 Premier Division will see three teams relegated, with only the First Division champions earning promotion.

You can see the full fixture list for the Premier Division here, and the First Division here.