FAI release their goal of the year nominations

Relive some of the best moment from Ireland's qualifying campaign

FAI release their goal of the year nominations

Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

The FAI have released their nominations for their goal of the year, and prepare to relive some of our finest moments from the past year.

Truth be told, Ireland's qualification campaign was rather underwhelming until the German's came rolling into town back in October and Shane Long scored a goal that has entered the pantheon of great Irish strikes, keeping company with the likes of Liam Brady, Robbie Keane, Jason McAteer and Ronnie Whelan. 

From there, the rest is history as Ireland overcame Bosnia & Herzegovina in the play-off to reach their third ever European Championship, with Robbie Brady's first leg strike also making the list.

Here are the three nominations: 

Jon Walters v Georgia

Shane Long v Germany

Robbie Brady v Bosnia and Herzegovina