Former Dublin hurling captain among seven players dropped from 2017 panel

Ger Cunningham has announced a 38-man squad for the upcoming season

BY Sinéad Farrell 14:32 Monday 7 November 2016, 14:32 7 Nov 2016

©INPHO/Donall Farmer

Former Dublin senior hurling captain Johnny McCaffrey is among those who have been dropped from the panel ahead of the 2017 season.

McCaffrey captained the team to a Leinster title in 2013 under then manager Anthony Daly. Additionally, Peter Kelly, who was named as an All Star in 2013 has also been cut as Cunningham seeks to utilise the youth in Dublin hurling, with the introduction of a number of players from the U21 and minor set-ups.

Along with Kelly and McCaffrey, Daire Plunkett, Niall Corcoran, Glenn Whelan and Paul Ryan have also been omitted. Meanwhile, Shane Durkin has withdrawn from the panel for next year.

Speaking to, manager Ger Cunningham said:

"It is largely a young squad but, along with our aims of continuing to try and make Dublin hurling successful in the short term, one of our key aims is building a solid foundation for the future. With this young squad, and with Dublin winning Leinster minor and U21 titles this year, we feel we can develop and grow the potential within Dublin hurling.

"To the players not named on the provisional panel we would like to thank them for their massive commitment to Dublin hurling. Their service was outstanding".

The full panel is:

Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)
Chris Bennett (Faughs)
Cian Boland (St.Oliver Plunkett)
Donal Burke (Na Fianna)
Tom Connolly (St Vincent's)
Eoghan Conroy (St Maurs)
Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda's)
Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)
Oisin Gough (Cuala)
James Madden (Ballyboden St Enda's)
Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St Enda's)
Canice Maher (St Jude's)
Jake Malone (Cuala)
Sean Moran (Cuala)
Rian Mc Bride (St Vincent's)
Cian Mc Gabhan (Kilmacud Crokes)
Fionntan Mc Gibb (Setanta)
Sean Mc Grath (Kilmacud Crokes)
Niall Mc Morrow (Ballyboden St Enda's)
Cian O' Callaghan (Cuala)
David “Dotsy” O' Callagahan (Ballyboden St Enda's)
Darragh O' Connell (Cuala)
Eoghan O'Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
Ryan O'Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes)
Oisin O'Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes)
Fionn O'Rian-Brion (St Jude's)
Cian O'Sullivan (St Brigids)
Alex Quinn (Crumlin)
Ben Quinn (Crumlin)
Liam Rushe (St Pats)
Mark Schutte (Cuala)
Paul Schutte (Cuala)
Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
David Treacy (Cuala)
Jonathan Tracey (Na Fianna)
Ronan Walsh (Kilmacud Crokes)
Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week