France to cease selecting players who qualify under rugby's three-year residency rule

Those already capped will remain in contention

Bernard Laporte,

Bernard Laporte ©INPHO/James Crombie

France have announced that they will no longer pick any players who qualified under rugby union's controversial three-year residency rule.

Ireland's CJ Stander is one such case.

Meanwhile, England number eight Nathan Hughes, Scotland's Josh Strauss and Wales back Gareth Anscombe are all eligible for the British rugby nations because of the ruling.

French Rugby Federation president Bernard Laporte says they will continue to select players who've already played for France.

"Obviously, it's not retroactive. Those playing can continue playing but it's a strong signal for French academies and our youngsters that we'll play a maximum number of Frenchmen," said Laporte, who served as France head coach between 1999 and 2007.

Current France internationals who qualified under the residency rule include Uini Atonio and Noa Nakaitaci.

Les Bleus' last Six Nations title came in 2010 when they also won the Grand Slam.

World Rugby formally began its review of the three-year residency rule in October.