GAA Round-Up: Provincial league title wins for Meath and Galway and all the results from today's fixtures

There were four major inter-county ties down for decision today

GAA Round-Up: Provincial league title wins for Meath and Galway and all the results from today's fixtures

©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Meath and Galway are the first recipients of some silverware in 2016 after claiming the O'Byrne Cup and FBD League respectively. 

In the O'Byrne Cup decider, Meath scored a six point scalp over Longford in Pairc Tailteann. Graham Reilly's contribution of six points, coupled with a 45th minute goal from Cillian O'Sullivan proved to be the decisive margins in the end. Longford, who knocked out tournament favourites Dublin in the semi-final, narrowed the deficit to three points at one point, but their efforts could not curtail the Royals who claimed their first O'Byrne Cup title since 2006. 

Over in Connacht, Galway triumphed over neighbouring rivals Roscommon. A brace of goals from the boot of Damien Comer in the early stages of the contest, provided a significant platform for Galway as they led at the break 2-05 to 0-06. Roscommon launched their reprisal in the second half and had opportunities to force the game into extra-time but Galway's defences held firm to claim their first FBD title in seven years.

Elsewhere, there were two Walsh Cup semi-finals down for decision today which eventually produced a Dublin v Wexford pairing for the final.

In their first competitive encounter since the Fenway Classic in Boston, Dublin earned a comprehensive victory over  title holders Galway on a final scoreline of 1-28 to 1-19. After Galway took a one point half-time lead through a David Burke goal, it was Dublin who surged into a higher gear in the second half with Eamon Dillon coming away with 1-3 to his credit. Further points from Niall McMorrow (0-04) and David 'Dotsy' O'Callaghan (0-03) put sufficient daylight between the sides and secured of a spot for Dublin in the final.

In the other semi-final, Wexford emerged victorious in a low-scoring contest against Offaly. The hosts were in control from the start with Harry Kehoe scoring an impressive 0-08 while Shane Dooley was one of the few Offaly players who imposed himself on the game.

Final Scores:

O'Byrne Cup Final

Meath 1-17  1-11 Longford


Galway 2-08   0-013 Roscommon

Walsh Cup Semi-Finals

Dublin 1-28   1-19 Galway

Wexford 0-14     0-06 Offaly