GALLERY: Na Piarsaigh named All-Ireland Club Hurling Champions

The Limerick side are the first from the county to win the crown

na piarsaigh, cushendall, hurling, gaa, all ireland

Na Piarsaigh's Kieran Breen and Sean McAfee of Cushendall Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Limerick's Na Piarsaigh are All-Ireland Club Hurling Champions after a 2-25 to 2-14 win over Antrim's Ruairi ÓG, Cushendall in Croke Park.

It's the first time a Limerick club have won the Tommy Moore Cup and the result never seemed in doubt after Adrian Breen found the back of the net after 29 seconds.

Na Piarsaigh were never trailing in the game and were well worth their 11-point win. A second goal from Kevin Downes helped the Limerick champions to a 2-12 to 0-6 lead at half-time.

Cushendall's heads never dropped and scored two second half goals from Neil McManus and Karl McKeegan to keep the scoreline closer than it may have deserved to have been.

The Na Piarsaigh team. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

The Ruairí Óg Cushendall team. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

David Breen, Na Piarsaigh, takes a shot at goal despite the tackle of Arron Graffin, Ruairí Óg. Picture credit: Ramsey Cardy / SPORTSFILE


Conor Carson, Ruairí Óg, is tackled by David Dempsey, Na Piarsaigh. Picture credit: Ramsey Cardy / SPORTSFILE

 Kevin Downes, Na Piarsaigh, scores his side's second goal. Picture credit: Piaras Ó Mídheach / SPORTSFILE

 David Breen, Na Piarsaigh, in action against Donal McNaughton, Ruairí Óg. Picture credit: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE

Na Piarsaigh captain Cathal King lifts the Tommy Moore Cup. Picture credit: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE