Henrik Stenson claims first major crown after stunning final round at Royal Troon

Stenson shot 63 to beat Phil Mickelson by three strokes in one of the finest rounds in the history of major championships

BY Cian Roche 19:20 Sunday 17 July 2016, 19:20 17 Jul 2016

Henrik Stenson was crowned Champion Golfer of the Year for 2016 after a stunning final round saw him clinch his first major at Royal Troon.

The Swede beat Phil Mickelson (-17) by three strokes to clinch the Open Championship with a remarkable final round of 63, two shots better than the American.

Stenson made a whopping ten birdies in his final round of play, matching the lowest score at a major championship - something that Mickelson had achieved on the first day of play on Thursday.

Mickelson matched the 40-year-old most of the way, probably the most remarkable feature of this round was the fact that his 65 still wasn't enough to see him over the line.

Stenson's four round total of 264 is the lowest number of strokes it has ever taken to win a major and as records were tumbling he also broke another more recent feat.

His score of -20 breaks Tiger Woods' record for the lowest score to win the Open Championship - Tiger finished on -19 at St Andrews in 2000.



GALLERY: Galway win first Connacht title in eight years with emphatic victory over Roscommon

19:00 Sunday 17 July 2016 0 Minute Read

Strong second-half showing sees Dublin secure sixth successive Leinster title

18:00 Sunday 17 July 2016 0 Minute Read

Juventus ordered to pay €2million to Nike over "three-star" kits

17:08 Sunday 17 July 2016 0 Minute Read

WATCH: Phil Mickelson snaps at photographer during The Open

16:23 Sunday 17 July 2016 0 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week