Here's who your county will face in the 2017 provincial championships

The draws for hurling and Gaelic football have been made tonight

BY Raf Diallo 22:43 Thursday 13 October 2016, 22:43 13 Oct 2016

Munster GAA Chairman Jerry O'Sullivan and Tipperary's Seamus Callanan ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

The 2016 All-Ireland football championship just came to an end a couple of weeks ago.

But the draw for the 2017 football and hurling championships have been made tonight.

Leinster Hurling Championship

Laois, Westmeath, Kerry and Meath are in a round-robin group and one of those sides will go on to take on Offaly in a quarter-final, while another will go head-to-head with Davy Fitzgerald's Wexford.

Quarter-final A sees Dublin and Galway battle for a place in the semi-final.

Kilkenny have a bye to the semi-final and will be on the opposite side of the draw from the winner of Dublin and Galway.

Instead the Cats will take on the winner of the Wexford-versus-group-team quarter-final. 


Munster Hurling Championships 

In Munster, All-Ireland champions Tipperary start their 2017 provincial adventure against Cork for a place in a semi-final against Waterford.

On the other side of the draw, it's a semi-final for Clare and Limerick. 


Munster Football Championship 

The quarter-finals see Cork take on Waterford and Limerick up against Clare. But who will they face in the semi-finals?

The winner of Cork and Waterford will advance to the semi-final against Tipperary, while it will be either Limerick or Clare on collision course with Kerry. 

Connacht Football Championship

Galway are now the reigning champions after ending Mayo's dominant provincial run en route.  

But first off, the preliminary round sees Sligo take on New York and in one quarter-final it's Leitrim against London.

The other quarter-final sees 2016 All-Ireland runners-up Mayo starting off against Sligo or New York.

Galway are in a semi-final against the winner of that quarter-final on the Mayo/Sligo/New York side of the draw.

On the other side, Roscommon face a semi-final against Leitrim or London.  

Ulster Football Championship

Always competitive in Ulster, 2017 sees Monaghan take on Fermanagh for the right to face Cavan in one of the four quarter-finals.

So who take on two in the other quarter-finals?

Well, here's how it looks:

Derry vs Tyrone

Donegal vs Antrim

Down vs Armagh

The winner of Derry and Tyrone will then take on the winner of Donegal versus Antrim in the semi-final, while the other last-four clash pitches Down/Armagh against whoever advances from the Monaghan, Fermanagh and Cavan side of the draw. 

Leinster Football Championship 

All-Ireland champions Dublin have dominated the province over the past decade and a half. But before they got involved, Louth and Wicklow are up against each other in Round 1. The winner of that match goes on to face Meath in the quarter-finals.

In the second Round 1 match, Laois and Longford will play each for the right to take on Kildare in the quarter-final.

In the third Round 1 clash, it's Carlow against Wexford. The winner of that one then meet Dublin in the quarter-final.

And the final quarter-final clash sees Offaly up against Westmeath.



Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week