How have English top-flight winning runs come to an end?

Chelsea have won 13 Premier League games in a row

BY Daniel Kelly 16:28 Wednesday 4 January 2017, 16:28 4 Jan 2017

Picture by Steven Paston EMPICS Sport

On Saturday afternoon, Chelsea defeated Stoke City at Stamford Bridge. The 4-2 win was their thirteenth in a row this season, matching the record of Arsenal from 15 years ago. 

Antonio Conte's side meet Tottenham on Wednesday evening, looking for their fourteenth win in a row, which would be a single-season record in the history of English top-flight football.

While the team look on course to reclaim the Premier League title, the winning run will eventually come to an end. Six other teams have won at least 11 games in a row in a single season. Here is how those runs came to an end.

Arsenal (2001/02) - 13 games

On the way to to winning the Premier League, Arsenal won 13 games in a row until the end of the season. Their overall run lasted 14 games, winning the opening game of the following season, before drawing 2-2 away to West Ham. Sylvain Wiltord scored a late equaliser to maintain the team's unbeaten run.

Tottenham (1960/61) - 11 games

11 wins in a row at the start of the season, helped Tottenham to their last league title, over 50 years ago. Bill Nicholson's side remained unbeaten at the start of the season up until November in a run of 16 games. The side's winning run ended in a 1-1 draw at home to Manchester City, when Bobby Smith scored one of the 28 league goals he would get in that campaign.

Liverpool (1981/82) - 11 games

Bob Paisley's side went 16 matches unbeaten to the end of the 1981/82 season, on the way to the club's thirteenth league title. From March to May, the team won 11 in a row, with wins over Everton and Manchester United on the way. A 2-2 draw against Tottenham ended the run, as Kenny Dalglish scored twice to draw the match at White Hart Lane.

Liverpool's team celebrate winning the 1982 First Division title. Picture by PA PA Archive/PA Images

Manchester United (1999/2000) - 11 games

A season after their historic treble, Alex Ferguson's side won the league title, with 11 games in a row. That period only included wins over two teams (Chelsea and Aston Villa) who would finish in the top six. The run would stop at 12 wins, when the team drew 1-1 away to Ipswich Town in the second game of the following season.

Manchester United (2008/09) - 11 games

Starting on St. Stephen's Day 2008, Alex Ferguson's side would win 11 in a row on the way to another Premier League title. Wins over Chelsea and Everton were part of the run, before the team lost two in a row to Liverpool and Fulham. They would also survive Liverpool's onslaught towards the end of the season, to win by four points.

Liverpool (2013/14) - 11 games

From February to April, Liverpool's 11-game winning run looked like it would end in that elusive first league title of the Premier League-era. Wins against the likes of Arsenal, Manchester United, Tottenham and Manchester City moved the team to the brink of league glory. A 2-0 loss (and an infamous slip) against Chelsea ended the 11-game run. That Liverpool team remain the only side to win 11 games in a row and not win the league. 

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week