Ireland name 48 strong training panel ahead of Women's Rugby World Cup

The tournament kicks-off in August

BY Simon Maguire 16:09 Tuesday 2 May 2017, 16:09 2 May 2017

A view of the Women's Rugby World Cup. Image: ©INPHO/Gary Carr

Ireland host the 2017 Women's Rugby World Cup later this year and the Irish management have named a 48-strong squad to prepare for the tournament.

The vast majority of the squad have international experience while 16 players have lined out for Ireland at both 15s and 7s level. 

Ireland endured a difficult November series losing to England, Canada and New Zealand before embarking a relatively successful 6 Nations campaign winning four of their five matches. 

Speaking at the announcement of the squad, Ireland head coach Tom Tierney said: "From the November tests and throughout the Six Nations, we wanted to develop depth in the squad and provide players with the opportunity to put their hand up for selection for the World Cup.

"Finishing in second place in the Six Nations was a positive result for the team and we will look to build on this prior to August and the World Cup.

Clare McLaughlin, Niamh Briggs, Tom Tierney, Nora Stapleton and Alison Miller. Image: ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

"The main goal for the coming months is to have our players as best prepared as possible for the World Cup," he added. 

The tournament kicks-off on August 9th and Ireland have been drawn in the same pool as Australia, France and Japan. 

The full squad is as follows: 


Elaine Anthony (Highfield/Munster)
Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster)
Anna Caplice (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster)
Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)*
Jennie Finlay (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's College RFC/Leinster)
Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary's College RFC/Leinster)
Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/Connacht)
Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster)
Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster)
Heather O'Brien (Highfield/Munster)
Ciara O'Connor (Galwegians/Connacht)
Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Ilse Van Staden (Cooke/Ulster)


Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Ulster)
Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht)
Nicole Cronin (Shannon RFC/Munster)*
Aoife Doyle (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Kim Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster) *
Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian/Munster) *
Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster) *
Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)
Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/Ulster)
Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht)
Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC) *
Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster
Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union/Munster) *
Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls)
Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (Aylesford Bulls /Munster)*
Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Megan Williams (St. Mary's College RFC) *

*Denotes uncapped at this level


Roddy Collins pays tribute to the "hard as nails" Ryan McBride

09:58 Monday 20 March 2017 1 Minute Read

Mick Cooke recalls past experience of managing Ireland's women's national team

19:39 Thursday 6 April 2017 2 Minute Read

Watch: Ian Poulter fends off alligator during RBC Heritage

13:44 Sunday 16 April 2017 2 Minute Read

GALLERY: Ireland's 2017 Lions

12:40 Wednesday 19 April 2017 3 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week