Ireland name a 32-man squad ahead of the three-test tour to South Africa

The opening Test takes place against the Springboks on June 11th

BY Newstalk 12:39 Wednesday 25 May 2016, 12:39 25 May 2016

Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

The Ireland national coaching group have selected a squad of 32 players to travel to South Africa in June for a three Test series against the Springboks.

The squad will depart for South Africa on Sunday 5th June and will be based in Cape Town ahead of the first Test at the DHL Newlands Stadium before moving to Johannesburg for the second Test at Emirates Airline Park.  The third and final Test will take place in Port Elizabeth at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium

There is no place in the squad for Leinster's Garry Ringrose but Joe Schmidt has included Ulster's Sean Reidy and Connacht's Quinn Roux in the 32-man squad. The duo are the only uncapped players in the squad.

Ireland Head Coach Joe Schmidt commented, "Touring South Africa will be arduous to say the least so we've attempted to prioritise players who are currently as close to full fitness as possible. In what is always a difficult balancing act, we've taken a long term view with a number of players who need a rest or will benefit from a full pre-season.”

Players unavailable for selection include Cian Healy, Denis Buckley, Nathan White, Josh van der Flier, Peter O'Mahony, Sean O'Brien, Tommy Bowe, Andrew Conway and Simon Zebo. 

Ireland last travelled to South Africa in 2004. The team lost the two-test series 2-0 after losing 31-17 and 26-17 in Bloemfontein and Cape Town respectively.

Ireland Squad for 2016 Summer Tour of South Africa

Forwards (18)
Finlay Bealham (Corinthians/Connacht)
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (c)
Sean Cronin (St Marys/Leinster)
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) (vc)
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Jack McGrath (St Marys/Leinster)
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Sean Reidy (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht)*
Rhys Ruddock (St Marys/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
CJ Stander (Munster)
Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Backs (14)
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock/Leinster)
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Jared Payne (Ulster)
Eoin Reddan (Old Crescent/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (St Marys/Leinster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)


If F1 drivers are looking for a hiding place this weekend, why won't they find it at Monaco?

12:36 Wednesday 25 May 2016 0 Minute Read

Arsenal confirm their first high-profile signing of the summer

11:56 Wednesday 25 May 2016 0 Minute Read

Paul Scholes wants Ryan Giggs to stay with Manchester United

09:31 Wednesday 25 May 2016 0 Minute Read

New body established to represent MMA in Ireland headed by John Kavanagh

11:00 Tuesday 24 May 2016 0 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week