Ireland squad announced for American games

Sue Ronan's side are to play two games in America later this month

Ireland squad announced for American games

The Ireland team that played Spain in November. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Sue Ronan has named 21 players in the squad she will bring to America for a two game our that includes a game against World Champions USA later this month. 

The squad features four changes from the 22 players named for the side’s last outing at home to Spain in November. Injuries have ruled out goalkeeper Grace Moloney, defender Niamh Fahey and midfielder Grace Murray while striker Carol Breen is in the process of emigrating to Australia. Breen is replaced by the experienced Fiona O’Sullivan who returns to the squad after missing the opening three games of the EURO 2017 qualifying campaign which clashed with her new role as a coach with the University of San Francisco.

Megan Connolly, who was part of the squad at last year’s Istria Cup in Croatia, returns in place of Claire O’Riordan after a hugely successful debut season with Florida State University. Connolly, who is the only uncapped player in the squad, scored nine goals and had 10 assists in 22 games for FSU and was named on the Team of the Year by the National College Athletics Association. She also helped the Irish U19 squad reach the Elite Phase of the European Championships during that period.

Defender Megan Campbell, who missed the Spain game due to college commitments, also returns as does Wexford Youths defender Jessica Gleeson who made her debut against USA last May. Niamh Fahey pulled out of the squad earlier today with a knee injury and Ronan will name her replacement later in the week to bring the squad up to its full complement of 22 players.

The match against USA will take place in San Diego on Saturday, January 23, with the game against the USA U23 team being played behind closed doors in Carson near Los Angeles on Monday, January 25.

Women’s National Team Squad (v USA)

Goalkeepers: Emma Byrne (Arsenal), Niamh Reid Burke (Shelbourne)

Defenders: Meabh De Burca (Galway), Megan Campbell (Unattached), Jessica Gleeson (Wexford Youths), Savannah McCarthy (Galway), Aine O’Gorman (UCD Waves), Sophie Perry (Brighton & Hove Albion), Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna United), Ciara Rossiter (Wexford Youths)

Midfielders: Diane Caldwell (Unattached), Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Siobhan Killeen (Shelbourne), Ruesha Littlejohn (Glasgow City), Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (Glasgow City), Julie Ann Russell (UCD Waves)

Forwards: Megan Connolly (Florida State University), Fiona O’Sullivan (Unattached), Stephanie Roche (Sunderland), Clare Shine (Glasgow City)