Ireland's Women's team make two changes for Italy

Tom Tierney's side hope to win their second game in a row

BY Newstalk 11:40 Thursday 9 February 2017, 11:40 9 Feb 2017

Ireland's Jenny Murphy celebrates scoring the winning try against Scotland. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Craig Watson

Ireland have made to changes from the side that defeat Scotland last week ahead of their second Women's Six Nations game of the season, against Italy.

Elaine Anthony moves from the replacements to partner Marie-Louise Reilly in the second row and in the backs, Hannah Tyrrell, who was involved with the Ireland Women's 7s side last weekend at the Sydney 7s comes into the side on the right-wing.

The front-row remains unchanged, with hooker Leah Lyons, partnered by props Lindsay Peat and Ailis Egan. Flankers Ciara Griffin and Claire Molloy will again join Captain Paula Fitzpatrick, in the back-row.

Alisa Hughes, who won her first Ireland cap last week in Glasgow will again partner Nora Stapleton at out-half. Sene Naoupu and Jenny Murphy renew their centre partnership, with Alison Miller and Tyrrell on the wings and Mairead Coyne at full-back.

There are also two changes in the replacements, as Ciara Cooney fills the space vacated by Anthony, and Sophie Spence comes into the side as cover for the back-row.

Ireland Women's team and replacements to face Italy

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union / Leinster)
2. Leah Lyons (Highfield / Munster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
4. Elaine Anthony (Highfield / Munster)
5. Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians / Munster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol / Connacht)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's College / Leinster) Captain

9. Ailsa Hughes – (Railway Union / Leinster)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
11. Alison Miller (Old Belvedere / Connacht)
12. Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls)
13. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
14. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
15. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)


16. Jennie Finlay (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
17. Ilse Van Staden (Cooke / Ulster)
18. Ciara O Connor (Galwegians / Connacht)
19. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union / Leinster)
20. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians / Connacht)
22. Claire Mc Laughlin (Cooke / Ulster)
23. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians / Munster)

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week