James O’Donoghue returns for Kerry's All-Ireland quarter-final with Clare

He returns to feature in his first game since last year's All-Ireland final

James O’Donoghue

Image: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan 

James O’Donoghue returns to the starting Kerry squad for the first time since last year's All-Ireland final against Dublin, as Eamonn Fitzmaurice makes three changes to the side to face Clare this weekend.

The Kerry forward comes into the squad in place of Colm Cooper who picked up an injury during Kerry's Munster final victory over Tipperary.

O'Donoghue has struggled with a shoulder injury for the best part of a year but now comes back into the side who look to end Clare's historic run in the All-Ireland series.

The Killarney Legion man made his Championship debut against Cork in 2011 and is made his 25th Championship appearance for Kerry when introduced as a sub in the Munster Final.

He's scored a whopping 9-65 in those 25 games.

Peter Crowley comes into the half back line in place of Aidan O’Mahony who was a late replacement for the injured Laune Rangers man  last day out. David Moran, meanwhile, is preferred to Bryan Sheehan up front in the final of the changes.

Kerry show two changes in personnel from the side that beat Clare by 2-23 to 0-17 in the Munster semi-final back on June 12th - David Moran and James O’Donoghue for Bryan Sheehan and Colm Cooper.

Kerry starting XV to face Clare

1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)

2. Shane (Enright Tarbert)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore) 
4. Killian Young (C) (Renard)

5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
6. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
7. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)

8. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
9. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)

10. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)
11. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)

13. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)


16. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin)
17. Bryan Sheehan (St Marys)
18. Aidan O’Mahony (Rathmore)
19. Anthony Maher (Duagh)
20. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)
21. Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) 
22. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
23. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
24. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)
25. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)
26. Tony Brosnan (Dr Crokes)