Jamie Heaslip nominated for World Rugby's Player of the Year

The Leinster star is looking to become the first Irishman to win the award since 2001

BY Daniel Kelly 14:28 Monday 7 November 2016, 14:28 7 Nov 2016

Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

Ireland and Leinster star Jamie Heaslip has been nominated for the 2016 World Rugby Men's Player of the Year.

Heaslip is on a six-man shortlist that includes New Zealand's Beauden Barrett and Dane Coles along with the England trio of Owen Farrell, Maro Itoje and Billy Vunipola.

The Ireland vice-captain has been involved in all nine of Ireland's games this year. The 32-year-old was instrumental in last weekend's win over New Zealand in Chicago along with the historic first test win over South Africa in Cape Town in June.

It is the second time Heaslip has been nominated for the award. In 2009, he was beaten to the prize by New Zealand's Richie McCaw.

If Heaslip is to win the award this year, he will become only the second Irish player to win the prestigious prize. Hooker Keith Wood won the inaugural title in 2001.

Heaslip is only the second Irish player to be nominated for the award since 2009. In 2014, Jonathan Sexton lost out to New Zealand's Brodie Retallick.

The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on November 13th. Heaslip is also in the running for the Try of the Year, after he scored Ireland's excellent team try in the Six Nations against Italy.


As Manny Pacquiao prepares to fight Jessie Vargas on Saturday, we look at his best 5 fights

19:21 Friday 4 November 2016 0 Minute Read

Bayern drop points against Hoffenheim as Aubameyang scores four for Dortmund

18:46 Saturday 5 November 2016 0 Minute Read

Chris Fields announced as co-main event for BAMMA/Bellator collaboration in December

08:36 Monday 7 November 2016 0 Minute Read

"They were running on empty really" - Stephen Kenny laments FAI Cup final loss

10:46 Monday 7 November 2016 0 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week