Jared Payne moves to full-back for first test against South Africa

Luke Marshall joins Rob Henshaw in the centre

rugby, payne, ireland, south africa, joe schmidt

Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

The Ireland coaching group have named the match day squad that will take on South Africa in the first Test of the Series at Newlands on Saturday evening.

Jared Payne moves to full back in place of the injured Rob Kearney. Ulster team mate Luke Marshall joins Robbie Henshaw in the centre.

Conor Murray and Paddy Jackson are the half-backs while Andrew Trimble and Keith Earls are named on the wings.

In the forwards, Rory Best captains the side and is joined in the front row by Jack McGrath and Mike Ross.  Devin Toner and Iain Henderson pack down in the second row with Jordi Murphy named at openside, South African-native CJ Stander at blindside flanker and Jamie Heaslip at number-eight.

The replacements named are Sean Cronin, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Furlong, Ultan Dillane, Rhys Ruddock, Kieran Marmion, Ian Madigan and Craig Gilroy.

The test match is Ireland's first in South Africa since losing a two-test series in 2004.

Ireland team and replacements to play South Africa:

(15-9): Jared Payne, Andrew Trimble, Robbie Henshaw, Luke Marshall, Keith Earls, Paddy Jackson, Conor Murray

(1-8): Jack McGrath, Rory Best (capt), Mike Ross, Iain Henderson, Devin Toner, CJ Stander, Jordi Murphy, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements (16-23): Sean Cronin, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Furlong, Ultan Dillane, Rhys Ruddock, Kieran Marmion, Ian Madigan, Craig Gilroy.