Joe Schimidt names Ireland side for New Zealand

Ireland take on the All Blacks in Chicago on Saturday

Joe Schmidt, Ireland, New Zealand,

Image: ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

Chicago is only recovering from the Cubs claiming victory in the World Series, but the city has another huge sporting fixture to look forward to this weekend. 

Ireland will take on the All Blacks, looking to put an end to an incredible winning-streak in Soldier Field on Saturday evening. 

On Thursday, Joe Schmidt named the side that he believes can put an end to that run of dominance, as he put his faith in the centre partnership of Robbie Henshaw and Jared Payne. 

Despite being substituted at half-time in his last game for Leinster against Montpellier in the Champions Cup, Jonathan Sexton is fit enough to start this contest alongside Conor Murray at scrum half. 

Simon Zebo's inventiveness and creativity sees him earn a spot in the starting lineup, while Rory Best will lead the side out as captain.

With a number of injuries to contend with, Schmidt named some uncapped players in the travelling squad, which may mean game time for Garry Ringrose or Joey Carbery, as they were named among the replacements that he will turn to in the course of the game. 

Meanwhile, Steve Hansen named the New Zealand team that will face Ireland, with Kieran Read, the most experienced player in the fold with 94 caps, as captain. 

Aaron Cruden, who scored the winning conversion when the All Blacks narrowly defeated Ireland 24-22 in 2013, was named on the bench.

With the team named, Alan Quinlan and Oisin Langan looked ahead to Saturday's game, as they discussed all the combinations and permutations on Facebook Live.

The Ireland team in full is:

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
14. Andrew Trimble (Ballymena)
13. Jared Payne (Ulster)
12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster)
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)
10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary's/Leinster)
9.  Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)
7. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
6. CJ Stander (Munster)
5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
4. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (c)
1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary's/Leinster)
16. Sean Cronin (St Mary's/Leinster)
17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
18. Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht)
19. Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)
20. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster)
23. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)