Joey Carbery starts against Edinburgh

Leo Cullen makes a total of eight changes in the hopes of making up ground on leaders Munster

BY Newstalk 12:29 Thursday 16 February 2017, 12:29 16 Feb 2017

Image: ©INPHO/Gary Carr u0003

Joey Carberry starts for Leinster this weekend as they look to make up ground on Ospreys and Munster atop the Guinness PRO12 table.

Leo Cullen's side take on Edinburgh and make eight changes to the side that beat Benetton Treviso last Sunday.

In the back three, Zane Kirchner picks up his 80th cap for the province and continues at full back with Dave Kearney again selected on the wing.  UCD's Barry Daly coming in on the left wing it means a shift across to the right wing for Kearney.

Noel Reid and Rory O'Loughlin will continue in the centre but it's a new combination at half back.

Luke McGrath and Carbery line up at 9 and 10 respectively in what will be Carbery's first start since injuring his ankle in their Champions Cup game away to Northampton in December.

McGrath assumes captain's duties in Isa Nacewa's absence.

In the front row, only Peter Dooley retains his starting jersey from last week with James Tracy coming in at hooker. Mike Ross starts at tight head after playing almost 30 minutes off the bench last week in his return from a hamstring injury.

It's a new look second row with Ross Molony and Mike McCarthy starting.

In the back row, Dominic Ryan and Jack Conan have been retained at blind side flanker and number 8, with Josh van der Flier coming in at open side.

Kick-off at the RDS Arena tomorrow night is at 7.35pm.

Leinster XV to face Edinburgh:

15. Zane Kirchner (79)
14. Dave Kearney (108)
13. Rory O'Loughlin (15)
12. Noel Reid (75)
11. Barry Daly (6)
10. Joey Carbery (13)
9. Luke McGrath (C) (66) 
1. Peter Dooley (30)
2. James Tracy (33)
3. Mike Ross (145)
4. Ross Molony (35)
5. Mike McCarthy (72)
6. Dominic Ryan (110)
7. Josh van der Flier (37)
8. Jack Conan (43)


16. Bryan Byrne (16)
17. Andrew Porter (6)
18. Michael Bent (78)
19. Mick Kearney (17)
20. Dan Leavy (30)
21. Jamison Gibson-Park (19)
22. Ross Byrne (15)
23. Adam Byrne (15)


WATCH: Qatar Airways' latest safety ad features all of Barcelona's biggest stars

12:02 Thursday 24 December 2015 0 Minute Read

Jackie Fullerton: Michael O'Neill "deserves Freedom of Belfast" for leading Northern Ireland to Euro 2016

21:43 Tuesday 29 March 2016 0 Minute Read

Olympic Council of Ireland to hold election for new president in February 2017

17:33 Tuesday 13 December 2016 1 Minute Read

'We're hoping that the stadium is well policed'': Martin O'Neil speaks ahead of Monday night game

15:20 Sunday 15 November 2015 0 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week