John Cooney poised to earn first Ireland cap against Japan

Ireland finish their Summer Tour this weekend

BY Cian Roche 09:48 Thursday 22 June 2017, 9:48 22 Jun 2017

Image: ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

John Cooney is in line to earn his first international cap this weekend when Ireland take on Japan in their final Test of their Summer Tour.

Joe Schmidt's side line out against the Brave Blossoms once again, following their victory over their oriental counterparts last Saturday morning.

They complete their Summer Tour at the Ajinomoto Stadium in Tokyo. Rhys Ruddock has been handed the captains armband as he starts at blindside flanker.

Jack Conan, who shone against Japan last week, starts at number eight, while Josh van der Flier slots in at openside.

Ulster's Kieran Treadwell and Leinster's Devin Toner make up the second row pairing, while Cian Healy, John Ryan and hooker James Tracy make up the front row.

Kieran Marmion and Paddy Jackson combine for the srum-half and fly-half partnership.

Luke Marshall and Garry Ringrose are handed starting berths in midfield, while Andrew Conway plays between Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

Simon Zebo missed out after the Munster player back aggravated a knee injury. Dan Leavy and Luke McGrath are also out through injury.

Action on Saturday morning kicks off at 6.40am Irish time.

Ireland XV to face Japan

15. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster)

14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)

12. Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)

11. Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

10. Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

9. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)

1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

2. James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)

3. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster)

4. Kieran Treadwell (Ballymena/Ulster)

5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

6. Rhys Ruddock (c) (St Mary's College/Leinster)

7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)

8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)


16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 

17. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)

18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)

19. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster)

20. Sean Reidy (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

21. John Cooney (Connacht)

22. Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)

23. Tiernan O'Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week