Leinster and Munster name their sides for weekend Pro 12 fixtures

Both teams are currently in the top four

BY Newstalk 13:21 Friday 4 December 2015, 13:21 4 Dec 2015

Head coach Leo Cullen Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Leinster and Munster have both announced their teams ahead of their Pro12 games this weekend.

Leo Cullen has made eight changes to the Leinster side that started last weekend's 8-3 win over Ulster with a further two positional changes in the backs for their game away to Glasgow. Rob Kearney is again selected to start from full back after being originally named in last week's team before pulling out injured.

Zane Kirchner is again selected on the right wing with Dave Kearney coming in on the left. Luke Fitzgerald moves from the left wing to inside centre. Ben Te'o will line up alongside him at 13. In the half backs Ian Madigan shifts from the centre to number ten, with Eoin Reddan starting at scrumhalf.

It's a completely new front row as Cullen calls up three Irish capped front rowers in Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss and Marty Moore, while Tom Denton comes in to partner Mike McCarthy in the second row.

Rhys Ruddock and Josh van der Flier will start at blind side and open side respectively, while Jordi Murphy comes in at the base of the scrum. Ruddock will also captain the team for the first time this season.

Leinster team to face Glasgow Warriors (KO Saturday 3pm)

(15-9): Rob Kearney, Zane Kirchner, Ben Te'o, Luke Fitzgerald, Dave Kearney, Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan.

(1-8): Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Marty Moore, Tom Denton, Mike McCarthy, Rhys Ruddock (capt), Josh van der Flier, Jordi Murphy.

Replacements (16-23): Sean Cronin, Peter Dooley, Tadhg Furlong, Ross Molony, Dominic Ryan, Isaac Boss, Cathal Marsh, Garry Ringrose.

Head coach Anthony Foley. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Anthony Foley has made ten changes to the Munster side that lost to Connacht in naming his side for Sunday's clash at Newport-Gwent Dragons. Denis Hurley is named as captain while Niall and Rory Scannell will become the first brothers to start together for Munster in the Pro12.

Niall Scannell remains at hooker with Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan returning to the front row while Dave Foley resumes his partnership with Mark Chisholm in the second row.

Two changes in the back row see blindside flanker Shane Buckley make his first start of the season with Dave O'Callaghan returning at openside and Robin Copeland remaining in at number eight.

Tomás O'Leary continues at scrum-half with Rory Scannell playing at fly-half. Scannell is one of two academy players included for this weekend's encounter with David Johnston starting alongside captain Denis Hurley for the second time this season.

Simon Zebo and Ronan O'Mahony return to the back-three on the left and right wing respectively with Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino switching to full-back.

Munster team to face Newport-Gwent Dragons (KO Sunday 2.30pm)

(15-9): Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Ronan O'Mahony, David Johnston, Denis Hurley (capt), Simon Zebo, Rory Scannell, Tomás O'Leary.

(1-8): Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Dave Foley, Mark Chisholm, Shane Buckley, Dave O'Callaghan, Robin Copeland.

Replacements (16-23): Kevin O'Byrne, James Cronin, Mario Sagario, Billy Holland, Jordan Coghlan, Cathal Sheridan, Tyler Bleyendaal, Gerhard van den Heever.


Are Micronesia the worst team in international football?

10:02 Tuesday 7 July 2015 0 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week