Les Kiss makes eight changes to Ulster team for Munster clash

The teams meet in Belfast on Friday night

Les Kiss makes eight changes to Ulster team for Munster clash

Les Kiss Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Presseye/Brian Little

Les Kiss has made eight personnel changes to the Ulster team that will face Munster at a sold-out Kingspan Stadium on Friday night.

Dan Tuohy and Wiehahn Herbst have returned from long-term injuries and will make their first senior appearances of the season, having not featured since December 2015 and January 2016 respectively.

The duo are two of five new faces to the forward pack, with a further three personnel changes made to the backline for the crucial Guinness PRO12 encounter.

Herbst is part of a front row that also includes captain Rob Herring and loosehead prop Callum Black.

Tuohy will join Franco van der Merwe in the second row, while Robbie Diack also returns to the starting team; he is picked alongside Sean Reidy and Roger Wilson in the back row.

Ruan Pienaar and Paddy Jackson are retained in the half-back positions, with Darren Cave joining Luke Marshall in midfield. Tommy Bowe and Craig Gilroy have been elevated from the bench to starting berths on the wing, so last week's Man of the Match Charles Piutau switches to fullback.

Conor Joyce could make his first appearance for the Province in over two years after being named among the replacements. The 23-year-old back row's last outing was the memorable 17-19 win over Munster at Thomond Park in May 2014.

Ulster team and replacements to play Munster:

(15-9): Charles Piutau; Tommy Bowe, Luke Marshall, Darren Cave, Craig Gilroy, Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar

(1-8): Callum Black, Rob Herring (capt), Wiehahn Herbst, Dan Tuohy, Franco van der Merwe, Robbie Diack, Sean Reidy, Roger Wilson.

Replacements (16-23): John Andrew, Kyle McCall, Andy Warwick, Clive Ross, Craig Joyce, Paul Marshall, Brett Herron, Jacob Stockdale.