Longford spring shock win over Dublin in the O'Byrne Cup while Roscommon come out victorious against Mayo

A number of crucial Provincial League fixtures took place across hurling and football codes today

Longford spring shock win over Dublin in the O'Byrne Cup while Roscommon come out victorious against Mayo

©INPHO/Tommy Grealy

Longford executed a stunning upset today with a win over All-Ireland holders Dublin to secure a spot in the O'Byrne Cup final.

Incidentally, Dublin are also the reigning O'Byrne Cup champions but after shipping a 1-12 0-09 defeat today, they will have to wait until 2017 before they can pursue the crown again.

Longford dictated the pace from the beginning of this contest and raced into a lead that they refused to relinquish, managing to hold off Jim Gavin's charges when their lead was curtailed to just one point in the second half.

Longford were three points in front at half-time and a 64th minute goal from substitute Liam Connerton proved to be the decisive score against a Dublin side that featured seven of their All-Ireland winning team.

Longford, who suffered a punishing  27 point defeat to Dublin in the Leinster championship last year, will now look towards preparing for their first appearance in an O'Byrne Cup final since 2008. Meath will be their opponents after they prevailed against Louth in the other semi-final.

It was a disappointing day for provincial champions as Connacht holders Mayo lost out to Roscommon in the semi-final of the FBD League. Kevin McStay's men ran out 0-13 0-10 winners in the end and will now look towards a date with Galway in the final.

Below is a summary of all the results from today's feast of GAA fixtures


McKenna Cup semi-finals

Fermanagh 0-10 Tyrone 1-13, Clones

Cavan 1-10 Derry 1-16, Athletic Grounds


O'Byrne Cup semi-finals

Longford 1-12 Dublin 0-9, Glennon Bros Pearse Park

Louth 0-10 Meath 0-11, Drogheda


FBD SFL round 3

IT Sligo 0-6 NUIG 4-10, Connacht GAA Centre

Roscommon 0-13 Mayo 0-10, McHale Park

Leitrim 1-11 Sligo 1-6, Ballinamore

Galway 0-16 GMIT 1-5, Tuam Stadium

McGrath Cup round 3

Tipperary 0-10 Kerry 0-16, Sean Treacy Park

Limerick 0-7 Waterford 2-7, Rathkeale


Walsh Cup round 3

Offaly 3-9 Kilkenny 1-9, Birr

Laois 1-9 Dublin 2-20, O'Moore Park

Carlow 0-7 Wexford 1-21, Netwatch Cullen Park

Meath 2-16 IT Carlow 1-12, Dunganny

Westmeath 0-17 Galway 3-18, St Lomans, Mullingar

DCU 1-20 NUIG 1-20, St Clares


Munster SHL round 4

Cork 0-18 Limerick 3-17, Mallow

Waterford 1-9 Clare 1-20, Carriganore