Meath and Galway start 2016 with silverware

Longford and Roscommon have to settle with runner-up spots

Meath, O'Byrne Cup

Meath's Donal Keogan lifts the cup ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Meath have completed the capture of a ninth O'Byrne Cup.

The Royals brushed aside Longford to claim their first title in a decade.

Graham Reilly was to the fore for Meath with a haul of 0-6 as Meath won 1-17 to 1-11, with the crucial goal coming from Cillian O'Sullivan.

Robbie Smyth palmed in Longford's goal.

Meanwhile Galway took the FBD League crown after a 2-8 to 0-13 win over Connacht rivals Roscommon.

Two early goals from Damien Comer proved crucial in separating the sides at Tuam Stadium.

Galway's seventh FBD League was their first since 2009.