N'Golo Kante wins PFA Player of the Year

He is the fourth Frenchman to win the award

BY Daniel Kelly 08:21 Monday 24 April 2017, 8:21 24 Apr 2017

Picture by: Barry Coombs/PA Wire/PA Images

Chelsea midfielder N'Golo Kante has been named the PFA Player of the Year.

The 26-year-old, who joined Chelsea from Premier League champions Leicester City last season, is on course to win successive league titles with two separate clubs.

Since joining Antonio Conte's side, Kante has been in immense form for the London side, missing only one league game. Despite only scoring one goal in the current campaign, his work-rate has been honoured by his peers.

Kante defeated team mate Eden Hazard and Manchester United's Zlatan Ibrahimovic to the award. Tottenham's Harry Kane, Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez and Everton's Romelu Lukaku completed the six-man shortlist. 

For the second year in a row, Tottenham's Dele Alli won the Young Player of the Year award. He defeated his team mate Harry Kane to the title, with Lukaku finishing in third place. Burnley's Michael Keane, Sunderland goalkeeper Jordan Pickford and Manchester City's Leroy Sane were also nominated.

Kante has become the fourth Frenchman to win the award, and the first since Thierry Henry. John Terry and Eden Hazard are the only other Chelsea players to win the award.


Aisling Dunphy admits Kilkenny had to dig deep for camogie league title

17:10 Sunday 23 April 2017 1 Minute Read

Sunday Night Takeaway: Wenger makes another FA Cup final

22:01 Sunday 23 April 2017 2 Minute Read

Barcelona win El Clasico as Lionel Messi marvels

07:39 Monday 24 April 2017 1 Minute Read

McLaughlin and McMonagle star as Donegal blitz Galway

16:00 Sunday 23 April 2017 3 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week