N'Golo Kante wins the FWA Footballer of the Year

He won the PFA Player of the Year title last month

N'Golo Kante wins the FWA Footballer of the Year

Picture by: Nick Potts/PA Archive/PA Images

N'Golo Kante has added to his PFA Player of the Year title, by being crowned the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year.

The Chelsea midfielder finished ahead of teammate Eden Hazard and Tottenham striker Harry Kane. The trio polled almost two-thirds of the total votes.

Kante is the fifth footballer in the last six years to win the PFA and Football Writers' Association Awards, which are seen as the two most prolific individual awards in English football. 

"It is a fantastic honour to win this award", Kante revealed. "With so many great players in this Chelsea squad and in the Premier League, for the Football Writers' Association to name me their Footballer of the Year is a very proud moment in my career."

Last season Kante came in third place, as the then-Leicester midfielder complete a clean-sweep for the 2016 Premier League champions. Jamie Vardy was named their Footballer of the Year, with PFA Player of the Year Riyad Mahrez finishing in second place.

Kante only joined Leicester City last season from French side Caen. He joined Chelsea last summer, and looks set to win the Premier League title for the second year in a row.