New Zealand gearing up for France in final test before the Lions arrive

They won the last Lions series 3-0 in 2005

New Zealand gearing up for France in final test before the Lions arrive

New Zealand perform the haka. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

New Zealand play France in Paris tonight in what is their last test match before the British and Irish Lions arrive in Aotearoa next summer.

Having had their aura of invincibility taken off them by an under-strength Irish side in Chicago at the beginning of November, the All Blacks will be desperate to sign off on their northern hemisphere with three wins in a row.

The French are generally a good test for New Zealand and have beaten the All Blacks in 12 of their 56 meetings. The New Zealanders still remember the 2007 Rugby World Cup quarter-final defeat and often lament the display of referee Wayne Barnes. 

France go into the game on the back of a 52-8 win over Samoa and a 25-23 reverse against Australia. 

It will be the first time the two sides have met since last year's Rugby World Cup quarter-final meeting when New Zealand ran out 62-13 winners.

At the moment, this will be New Zealand's last test before the summer's Lions series and they will be looking to lay down a marker before Warren Gatland's squad arrives. 

New Zealand: 1. Joe Moody 2. Dane Coles 3. Owen Franks 4. Brodie Retallick 5. Samuel Whitelock 6. Jerome Kaino 7. Matt Todd 8. Kieran Read (captain) 9. TJ Perenara 10. Beauden Barrett 11. Julian Savea 12. Ryan Crotty 13. Anton Lienert-Brown 14. Waisake Naholo 15. Israel Dagg
Subs: 16. Codie Taylor 17. Wyatt Crockett 18. Charlie Faumuina 19. Scott Barrett 20. Ardie Savea 21. Aaron Smith 22. Aaron Cruden 23. Rieko Ioane

15 Brice Dulin, 14 Noa Nakaitaci, 13 Rémi Lamerat, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Virimi Vakatawa, 10 Camille Lopez, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Kevin Gourdon, 6 Charles Ollivon, 5 Yoann Maestri, 4 Sébastian Vahaamahina, 3 Uini Atonio, 2 Guilhem Guirado (captain), 1 Xavier Chiocci
Subs: 16 Camille Chat, 17 Cyril Baille, 18 Rabah Slimani, 19 Julien Le Devedec, 20 Damien Chouly, 21 Baptiste Serin, 22 Jean-Marc Doussain, 23 Gaël Fickou