New Zealand reveal starting team to take on Ireland in Chicago

Kieran Read captains the All-Blacks side

BY Raf Diallo 16:48 Thursday 3 November 2016, 16:48 3 Nov 2016

New Zealand captain Kieran Read, looks on during the rugby championship match between South Africa and New Zealand, at Kingsmead stadium in Durban, South Africa, Saturday, Oct. 8, 2016. (AP Photo/Themba Hadebe)

New Zealand have named their team for the rugby international test match against Ireland in Chicago.

Kieran Read captains the side which will take on Joe Schmidt's team on Saturday, November 5th at Soldier Field.

He is the most experienced player when it comes to All Blacks caps in the team, with 94 to his name.

Beauden Barrett is at out-half in a half-back pairing with Aaron Smith.

Julian Savea and Waisake Naholo are on the wings, while the centre partnership is made up of Ryan Crotty and George Moala.

Aaron Cruden, who scored the winning conversion when the All Blacks narrowly defeated Ireland 24-22 in 2013, is on the bench.

Scott Barrett is the only uncapped player named, starting from the bench and speaking to the New Zealand rugby official website, head coach Steve Hansen said: "Firstly, we want to congratulate Scott on being selected in the matchday 23 for the first time. It will be special day for him and the entire Barrett family, including his two brothers who are touring with him. Also, we want to congratulate Julian on reaching 50 Tests. That is a significant achievement and again he and his family can be rightly proud of everything he has achieved in the black jersey.

"Returning to Chicago for only the second time in our history has, once again, been a great experience. The team have embraced the sporting atmosphere and the culture of the city and we really appreciate the way we’ve been looked after by the people of Chicago."

New Zealand starting XV

1. Joe Moody

2. Dane Coles 

3. Owen Franks

4. Patrick Tuipulotu 

5. Jerome Kaino 

6. Liam Squire

7. Sam Cane 

8. Kieran Read

9. Aaron Smith 

10. Beauden Barrett 

11. Julian Savea 

12. Ryan Crotty 

13. George Moala 

14. Waisake Naholo 

15. Ben Smith 


16. Codie Taylor 

17. Ofa Tu’ungafasi 

18. Charlie Faumuina 

19. Scott Barrett

20. Ardie Savea 

21. TJ Perenara

22. Aaron Cruden

23. Malakai Fekitoa 


Aidan O'Shea swaps football for basketball as he joins Sligo All-Stars

13:06 Thursday 3 November 2016 0 Minute Read

Europa League As it happpened: Zenit St Petersburg vs. Dundalk

19:50 Thursday 3 November 2016 0 Minute Read
Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week