New Zealand's Beauden Barrett named World Rugby Player of the Year

The All Blacks dominated the awards this year

BY Sinéad Farrell 09:16 Monday 14 November 2016, 9:16 14 Nov 2016

Rob Griffith AP/Press Association Images

New Zealand out-half Beauden Barrett has been named World Rugby Player of the Year for 2016.

Barrett was awarded the gong at the World Rugby Awards ceremony in London yesterday. Ireland's Jamie Heaslip along with England's Owen Farrell and All Blacks teammate Dane Coles were among those shortlisted for the award.

Barrett is now the fifth consecutive All Black to be selected as Player of the Year. Racing Metro's Dan Carter was twice awarded the prize in 2012 and 2015, while Kieran Rean and Brodie Retallick were awarded the accolade in 2013 and 2014 respectively.  

It was a successful night overall for New Zealand rugby, winning out in three of the award categories including World Rugby Team of the Year and World Rugby Coach of the Year.

Speaking at the award ceremony, a delighted Barrett said:

"It means so much and it is certainly not something I expected to be awarded, or even to have my name thrown in the mix with the talented players we saw nominated. It's a by-product of a couple of great teams I have been a part of this year, the Hurricanes and the All Blacks. I have to thank the coaches and my team-mates around me because without them I wouldn't be here."

Meanwhile, England captain Sarah Hunter capped off a successful weekend for her national side by collecting the World Rugby Women's Player of the Year 2016 hours after her side beat Ireland 12-10 in their second November series test.

Full list of World Rugby Awards winners

World Rugby Men's Player of the Year – Beauden Barrett, New Zealand
World Rugby Women's Player of the Year – Sarah Hunter, England
World Rugby Team of the Year – New Zealand
World Rugby Coach of the Year – Steve Hansen, New Zealand
World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year – Maro Itoje, England
World Rugby Men's Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC – Seabelo Senatla, South Africa 
World Rugby Women's Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC – Charlotte Caslick, Australia
World Rugby Referee Award – Alhambra Nievas, Spain, and Rasta Rasivhenge, South Africa
Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – Syd Millar
Award for Character – Rugby Opens Borders, Austrian Rugby Union
IRPA Special Merit Award – Jean de Villiers, South Africa
IRPA Try of the Year – Jamie Heaslip, Ireland
Special recognition of Olympic Games success: Australia's women and Fiji's men


Off The Ball


The very best bits of Off The Ball delivered every week