Nigel Carolan makes one change to Ireland U20 side to face New Zealand

Ben Betts comes in in place of the injured Conor Kenny

Nigel Carolan makes one change to Ireland U20 side to face New Zealand

Image: ©INPHO/Camerasport/Dave Howarth 

Ireland make one change to the side that beat Wales in their World Rugby U20 Championship opener, as they prepare to face New Zealand.

Tighthead prop Ben Betts gets the nod in place of the injured Conor Kenny, who picked up a knock to his shoulder against Wales.

James Bollard comes on to the bench as one of the replacement props. Landsdowne's James Ryan will continue in his capacity as captain, while Vakh Abdaladze is the only uncapped member of the side and he will be looking to win his first Ireland U20 cap from the bench.

"It was very pleasing to open the Championships with the win over Wales on Tuesday," Carolan said, "While we gave them a big lead early on, I felt that we showed fantastic ambition and fight to get back into the game and we were patient to close out the win in the end.

"New Zealand is a massive game for us. They had a comprehensive win over Georgia on Tuesday so they will be going into this game full of confidence

"Our players have recovered well over the last number of days and are looking forward to the challenge against the current world champions".

Ireland U20 XV to face New Zealand

15. Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins / Ulster)
14. Matthew Byrne (Terenure / Leinster)
13. Shane Daly (Cork Con / Munster)
12. Conor O’Brien (Clontarf / Leinster)
11. Hugo Keenan (UCD / Leinster)
10. Bill Johnston (Garryowen / Munster)
9. Stephen Kerins (Sligo / Connacht)

1. Andrew Porter (UCD / Leinster)
2. Adam McBurney (Ballymena / Ulster)
3. Ben Betts (Young Munster / Munster)
4. Cillian Gallagher (Sligo / Connacht)
5. James Ryan (Lansdowne / Leinster) Captain
6. Greg Jones (UCD / Leinster)
7. David Aspil (St. Mary’s RFC / Leinster)
8. Max Deegan (Lansdowne / Leinster)


16. Vincent O’Brien (Cork Con / Munster)
17. James Bollard (Dublin University / Leinster
18. Vakh Abdaladze (Clontarf / Leinster)*
19. Sean O’Connor (Cashel / Munster)
20. Kelvin Brown (Shannon / Munster)
21. Niall Saunders (Epsom College / Exile)
22. Johnny McPhillips (Queens University / Ulster)
23. Jimmy O’Brien (UCD / Leinster)