Pat Lam makes ten changes to Connacht side for Italian job against Treviso

The Westerners go into the penultimate weekend of the season in second place

connacht, rugby, italy, treviso, pat lam, pro 12

Connacht's head coach Pat Lam Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Ahead of Connacht's trip to Stadio Monigo in Italy this week, Pat Lam has made 10 personnel changes to the team that defeated Munster just under a fortnight ago.

Connacht born players Jack Carty and Tiernan O'Halloran both return from injury to start in a back line that also sees the introduction of wing Fionn Carr and scrum half John Cooney. Rory Parata is named to start in an Academy midfield partnership with Peter Robb.

Up front, props Ronan Loughney and Rodney Ah You start in a front row with hooker Tom McCartney who captains the side for the second time this season.

Quinn Roux and Andrew Browne make up a new second row partnership while the back row is also changed with the return of openside Jake Heenan from injury. Eoin McKeon shifts to Number 8 with John Muldoon named on the bench.

Caolin Blade and the fit-again AJ MacGinty are included amongst the replacement backs alongside Ireland international Robbie Henshaw.

Commenting on the team selection and the upcoming game, head coach Pat Lam said:

"We're under no illusions when it comes to the challenge we face in trying to secure a semi final spot tomorrow night in Italy. Treviso are desperate for points to get them into next year's Champions Cup. This is their last home game before they travel to play Leinster in the RDS so we know which game they will be targeting for the crucial points." 

"With some players returning and unfortunately losing a few others to injury, we see a much-changed team again this week. But the expectation remains that those selected have a responsibility to execute their roles and work hard for the team. This will give us the best chance to secure the points and some very special outcomes for Connacht Rugby."

Connacht team and replacements to face Treviso:

(15-9): Tiernan O'Halloran, Niyi Adeolokun Rory Parata, Peter Robb, Fionn Carr, Jack Carty, John Cooney.

(1-8): Ronan Loughney, Tom McCartney (capt), Rodney Ah You, Quinn Roux, Andrew Browne, Sean O'Brien, Jake Heenan, Eoin McKeon.

Replacements (16-23): Dave Heffernan, JP Cooney, Finlay Bealham, Aly Muldowney, John Muldoon, Coalin Blade, AJ MacGinty, Robbie Henshaw.