Premiership sides dominate EPCR European Player of the Year nominees

No Irish players feature on the shortlist

English Premiership sides dominate the nominees for the EPCR European Player of the Year.

No Irish players feature on the list taking into the account that each of the Irish provinces crashed out of the Champions Cup at the group stage.

Connacht, who were dumped out of the Challenge Cup at the hands of Grenoble, also don't feature any nominees on the 15-strong list.

The 2014 winner, Steffon Armitage of RC Toulon, is nominated once again, while other nominees include Racing 92's Dan Carter and French captain, Guilhem Guirado.

Jack Clifford is the only player outside of the Champions Cup, his Harlequins side have reached the semi-final of the Challenge Cup. 

Midi Olympique Editor, Emmanuel Massicard,  Stuart Barnes of the Sunday Times, Mick Cleary, Matthieu Lartot and Dmitri Yachvili will all judge the award.

EPCR European Player of the Year 2016 list presented by Turkish Airlines

Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
Dan Carter (Racing 92)
Jack Clifford (Harlequins)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)
Guilhem Guirado (RC Toulon)
Juan Imhoff (Racing 92)
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
George North (Northampton Saints)
Charles Piutau (Wasps)
George Smith (Wasps)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)