Radamel Falcao omitted from Colombia's Copa America 40-man squad

The on-loan Chelsea striker has scored 25 goals in 63 appearances for his country

Radamel Falcao's unceremonious fall from grace continues as the on-loan Chelsea striker has been omitted from Colombia's 40-man panel for the Copa America Centenario.

Falcao is the country's joint highest goalscorer after netting 25 times in 63 appearances. The 30-year-old has not featured for Colombia since their defeat to Uruguay last October.

The striker has had to endure a difficult time in England, with loan spells with Manchester United and more recently Chelsea interrupted by injury. He has only managed five goals in 36 appearances since arriving on British shores in 2014.

Falcao has struggled with fitness after injuring his ACL on multiple occasions over the past three years and his recent performances are a far cry from his prolific streak; 72 goals in 87 appearances for Porto and 70 goals in 91 appearances for Atlético Madrid.

Colombia’s prelim 40-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Cristian Bonilla (Atletico Nacional), David Ospina (Arsenal), Camilo Vargas (Argentinos Juniors), Robinson Zapata (Santa Fe)

Defenders: Felipe Aguilar (Atletico Nacional), Eder Alvarez (River Plate), Santiago Arias (PSV Eindhoven), Cristian Borja (Santa Fe), Farid Diaz (Atletico Nacional), Frank Fabra (Boca Juniors), Deiver Machado (Millonarios), Stefan Medina (Pachuca), Yerry Mina (Santa Fe), Jeison Murillo (Inter), Oscar Murillo (Pachuca), Helibelton Palacios (Deportivo Cali), William Telsillo (Santa Fe), Christian Zapata (AC Milan)

Midfielders: Wilmar Barrios (Deportes Tolima), Nicolas Benedetti (Deportivo Cali), Edwin Cardona (Monterrey), Guillermo Celis (Junior), Juan Cuadrado (Juventus), Gustavo Cuellar (Flamengo), Cristian Higuita (Orlando City), Vladimir Hernandez (Junior), Sebastian Perez (Atletico Nacional), Andres Felipe Roa (Deportivo Cali), James Rodriguez (Real Madrid), Carlos Sanchez (Aston Villa), Daniel Torres (Independiente Medellin)

Forwards: Carlos Bacca (AC Milan), Roger Martinez (Racing Club), Marlos Moreno (Atletico Nacional), Dayro Moreno (Club Tijuana), Luis Fernando Muriel (Sampdoria), Harold Preciado (Deportivo Cali), Luis Quinones (Pumas UNAM), Adrian Ramos (Borussia Dortmund)